Sewing · Soft toys · Textiles

Fly away my lovelies! A collection of Puriri moths released

Textile Puriri moth Textile Puriri moth Textile Puriri moth Textile Puriri moth Hena2Textile Puriri moth

Fly away my little lovelies … meet Hena, Marama, Mahina, Lune and friends. These textile Puriri moths are flying away from my studio and I will miss them so!

They are named for the moon they greet when they emerge from their chrysalis at night. Each is slightly different and I’ve learned that the easiest way to identify them, is by the markings on their wings.

A small collection of them are going to a special art project here in Auckland. They’ll be left in the wild, settled in trees and balanced on branches, for some lucky people to come across, wonder about and maybe even take home. I’ve left a little note with each one, so perhaps we’ll be able to follow where they end up.

Two others have already found homes, one in the South Island of New Zealand and another in England.

And my precious Luna, the very first Puriri moth to emerge from my hands, is staying right here with us.

2 thoughts on “Fly away my lovelies! A collection of Puriri moths released

Leave a Reply

