Sewing · Soft toys

Meet Carmen: a doll for a Very Special two-year-old

Image

Its getting late at night here in New Zealand and I don’t usually blog at this hour … but I’ve decided to grab a picture of this wee lovely before I go to bed. I’ve got to be up again early, to get her finished for a birthday party at 9:30 tomorrow morning. Eeek!

This is my first doll, based loosely on other designs I have seen. My doll design is definitely a work in progress. In future, I’ll make the arms a more consistent width and change how they attach to the torso. I used some vintage pearl buttons and don’t like the the arms sit out. I’ll knot the lips looser so they don’t pucker and make sure the eye thread doesn’t show so clearly (as the lips and eyes do here). Her hair is pretty messy, but I like that. I followed a Waldorf doll tutorial (in Polish perhaps?). Next time, I’ll add more layers on the hair and remember that the wool stretches when it is wound over a frame.

There’s still a lot of finishing to do in the morning … the dress needs to be hemmed, arm-holes finished and Velcro attached to the back (not pretty, but good for toddlers). And it *must* be pressed. I really dislike seeing sewing that isn’t pressed, even at this small size! I would love to make her some knickers and a petticoat, but those will have to wait for another time.

We’ll see how the Birthday Girl likes her; if she’s into it, I’d be very happy to make a wee wardrobe of clothes for Christmas. If any of my other nieces or god-daughter are still into dolls, I could just plan to make them one too.

 

8 thoughts on “Meet Carmen: a doll for a Very Special two-year-old

    1. Thank you. It was really well received! She had a look of delight on her face when she opened the gift and gave the doll kiss straight away. The doll stayed under her arm for a good party of the party. I couldn’t have asked for a better reception.

Leave a Reply

