Embroidery · Textiles

Dia de Los Muertos embroidery – a crafty gang patch

Dia de los muertos embroidery Dia de los muertos embroidery

There is fabric back in the hoop and needle in hand! I’ve been working on a Dia de Los Muertos sugar skull embroidery pattern, designed and screened by my friend Mandy. I was going to leave the face and teeth as blank cotton, but now I think I’ll satin stitch the whole lot and backstitch the black outlines.

Mandy is an artist and photographer and very busy mother. She was the instigator for the Crafty Ladies League installation at Kokomo a few years ago. Mandy’s art was in the windows, which we surrounded with paper flowers and mini skulls. And three of the Crafty Ladies got painted up because … well, just because.

I’m proud to be a founding member of the Crafty Ladies League (I miss you, ladies!). This embroidery is going to end up as gang-patch on the back of my sleeveless denim jacket. This probably means I’d be barred from craft shows in Wanganui, but I’m cool with that.

When my graffiti embroidery turned up on Mr X Stitch recently, it motivated me to get my stitching folder out again. I’ve been at home sick today, so I’ve spent most of the day at the kitchen table drinking tea and pulling thread. It felt so good.

6 thoughts on “Dia de Los Muertos embroidery – a crafty gang patch

    1. Thank you, that’s really kind of you to say. I did a few hours on it over the weekend, I’ll try and share a picture this week.

Leave a Reply

