Local Love · Sewing

Local Love: Nick’s Fabrics

DSC01160

When I received an email from Nick’s Fabrics in Mt.Eden announcing a price-slashing ‘moving out’ sale, my breath caught in my chest. Nick’s is the most awesome of discount fabric stores in Auckland and a sale there means superlow furnishing and dress fabric prices. But was Nick’s closing?

Nick’s is a small shop about half way down Auckland’s Dominion Road, literally packed to its exposed-wood rafters with bargain fabrics. The prices are always awesome, regardless of whether they’re on sale. Only $8 for furnishing and $4 for dress fabrics; this is where I found the petticoat fabric, for my split seam pattern. You may even recognise the fabrics  from Global in Newton and Martha’s in Newmarket, because Nick’s is their outlet store.

Thankfully, I discovered its not the end for Nick’s, just preparation for a move to new premises. Until the shift, there are some awesome bargains in-store. My mama got the black and grey piece you see here, its kind of Japanese looking. (She finds it hard to visit Auckland and not buy fabric; you’d never guess we were related.)

I bought a length of silk-like fabric with a black velvet brocade pattern, which I think is perfect for a new Frida Kahlo skirt. One should always be prepared to pull a full Frida when the opportunity arises.

The always-charming Oliver, who wields the fabric shears, couldn’t shed much light on the future of the shop just yet, other than to say “bigger” and “more”. A bigger Nick’s would be good. More would be even better. Here’s hoping it stays local to my part of town.

DSC01153 DSC01155  DSC01157 DSC01162

Local Love celebrates the independent establishments that make a good town great. If you want to share the love for one of your local businesses, post a link in the comments.

3 thoughts on “Local Love: Nick’s Fabrics

  1. Interesting! We did have a Nick’s over in Takapuna for a short while, so I guess if they had enough fabric to operate a second shop, albeit temporarily, then a combined bigger one would make sense.

    1. I remember that one too, Jason. If memory serves me correctly, visiting that shop was the first time I came across the Nick’s brand … I think there was another sale on. I’m intrigued as to where the new one going to be.

Leave a Reply

